Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2020

It’s that time of year again! I always start to see the Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag floating around early June, which always seems a little premature to me – there’s a whole month of the first half of the year left?! What if you read a masterpiece mid-June?! But we’re firmly in the second half of the year now so I’m ready to add mine to the pile.

The tag was first created by booktubers ReadLikeWildfire and Earl Grey Books and I’ve done it every year since I started blogging. It’s always interesting to look back on my answers from previous years but also scary because half of the books I talk about, I feel like I read yesterday!

I struggled to answer some of these questions; I just feel like I haven’t had many super-memorable reads these past six months. It’s been very middling.

BEST BOOK READ SO FAR IN 2019?

I dont feel like I’ve had a real stand out favourite so far, but… maybe Me by Elton John? Though that was definitely down to Taron Egerton’s fantastic narration on the audiobook. So maybe Foe by Iain Reid. Though I’ve also re-read If We Were Villains which hands-down wins, but since it’s a re-read I’m excluding it from this.

BEST SEQUEL READ SO FAR IN 2019?

I’ve only read one sequel this year and that’s Red Snow by Will Dean, part of the Tuva Moodyson series. It was fine, definitely wouldn’t be ‘best sequel’ material if it wasn’t the only one I had read.

NEW RELEASE NOT READ YET BUT ARE REALLY EXCITED FOR?

I’m really excited to read I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee, even though it’s not at all like what I would usually read. A bit more typical for me is Sophie Mackintosh’s Blue Ticket which I’ve been looking forward to since it was announced. Both came out in June.

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF 2019?

After Sarah Moss’ Ghost Wall, I can’t wait for her new book, Summerwater, which is out mid-August.

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT SO FAR?

Maybe Virgin: The Untouched History, by Hanne Blank? I’ve definitely read worse books this year but I actually had high hopes for this one.

BIGGEST SURPRISE SO FAR?

Probably The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon. I sped through all 800+ pages. I knew it would be good, but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

FAVOURITE NEW-TO-YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR?

Maybe Iain Reid? I really enjoyed Foe and I’d be interested to read more of his work.

NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH FROM THIS YEAR?

When I did the buddy-read of If We Were Villains with my best friend, we did fancasts for all the characters which made me crush on James and Filippa in equal amounts.

NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER FROM THIS YEAR?

Eleanor Oliphant sticks out, but I wouldn’t say she was a ‘favourite’.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

I remember crying listening to Elton John’s autobiography but I can’t for the life of me remember at what part.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

Jonathan Van Ness’ autobiography, Over the Top, is such a joy to listen to. It’s very raw but his positivity is so inspiring.

FAVOURITE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR?

I loved Little Women, though I haven’t read the book. I also re-watched Call Me By Your Name which is one of my favourite adaptations.

FAVOURITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR

I had fun reviewing Priory because I just gush about the gay romance mostly.

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR THIS YEAR?

I don’t know really… in terms of writing, maybe Olivia Gatwood’s poetry collection, Life of the Party.

BOOK YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR

I have to read The Binding, I’ve had it since it came out and in 2018 and 2019 it was one of the books I said I would get to and then never did. I cannot go into 2021 saying the same thing.

What have been your favourite reads of 2020 so far?

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2020

  1. Okay, this is embarrassing, but I think in the 4 years I’ve been stanning this tag I always assumed “beautiful book” meant cover appearance, and I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else talk about beautiful writing but suddenly I feel like that is the intent of the prompt and I’ve been massively misreading it, lol.
    Anyway, sorry to hear you haven’t had a very inspiring first 6 months of the reading year, but I hope it’ll turn around for you in the second half! I really need to read Foe, I was so impressed by Reid’s I’m Thinking Of Ending Things a few years ago. And I’m also stoked for Blue Ticket!

    Like

    • Haha! I think my approach to the ‘beautiful book’ question has varied over the years and I just happened to go for the writing angle this time around. Hoping for a better second half of the year; expecting Blue Ticket to lead the pack!

      Like

Leave a comment